Minutes of a meeting of the ANNUAL TOWN COUNCIL held in the ANZAC ROOM, Meridian Centre, Peacehaven on Tuesday 19th May 2015 at 6.30pm.

<u>Committee Members</u>	Councillors:	Wayne Botting Daryll Brindley Jean Farmiloe (Vice Chair) Reg Farmiloe Brian Gosling Lynda Hallett Job Harris Ann Harrison Jackie Harrison-Hicks	Pat Haswell Andy Loraine Ron Maskell Dave Neave Amber Robertson Robbie Robertson (Chair) Melvyn Simmons Andy Smith
<u>Present</u>	Councillors:	Wayne Botting Daryll Brindley Jean Farmiloe (Vice Chair) Reg Farmiloe Lynda Hallett Job Harris Ann Harrison Jackie Harrison-Hicks	Pat Haswell Andy Loraine Ron Maskell Dave Neave Amber Robertson Robbie Robertson (Chair) Melvyn Simmons Andy Smith
In Attendance		Alan Sargent - Town Manager John Kocher - Corporate Services Manager & RFO Angela Read – Assistant Town Manager (Leisure & Amenities) Sally Landers - Administration Officer	

Cllr. L Hallett noted that the agenda should state this was an Annual Town Council meeting and not a Council meeting

A Sargent noted this was a typing error

C001 ELECTION OF MAYOR 2015-16

Cllr. A Smith nominated Cllr. R Robertson Cllr. A Loraine seconded proposal

Agreed

C002 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR 2015-16

Cllr. L Hallett nominated Cllr. J Farmiloe Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks seconded proposal

Agreed

C003 NOTIFICATION OF LEADER/DEPUTY LEADER

Cllr. L Hallett nominated Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks to be elected Leader Cllr. M Simmons seconded proposal

Agreed

Cllr. P Haswell nominated Cllr. L Hallett to be elected Deputy Leader Cllr. J Harris seconded proposal

Agreed

Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks nominated Cllr. A Loraine to elected second Deputy Leader Cllr. D Brindley seconded proposal

Agreed

C004 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

Joan Goldrich – North Ward

• Query with regards to attendees present at the meeting table who were not Councillors

A Sargent stated Officers of the Council were present to assist proceedings

Action: A Sargent to send written response to Joan Goldrich

• Query with regards to the need to appoint a second Deputy Leader

Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks stated there were no restrictions on the number of Deputy Leaders that could be appointed

Cllr. P Howson (ESCC)

- Query with regards to Centenary Park:-
 - The provision of dog bins
 - The closure of the café toilets

Cllr. R Robertson stated a written response will be sent to Cllr. P Howson

Action: A Sargent to send written response to Cllr. P Howson

Chair of Peacehaven Horticultural Society

• Stated that currently the Society rent premises from Lewes District Council due to their previous hut being decommissioned as a result of the Big Park Project. A request was raised for the Council to provide a replacement hut

Cllr. R Robertson stated a written response will be sent to Peacehaven Horticultural Society

Action: A Sargent to send written response to Peacehaven Horticultural Society

C005 CONSIDER APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Cllr. Brian Gosling – noted (holiday)

C006 TO NOTE THE NON CONFIDENTIAL COUNCIL MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF 30th April 2015

Noted

Matters Arising:-

None

C007 TO NOTE THE FOLLOWING NON CONFIDENTIAL COMMITTEE MINUTES

1 Committee – Planning & Highways 28th April 2015

Noted

Matters Arising:-

None

C008 TO RECEIVE DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST FROM MEMBERS

None

C009 TO APPOINT MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE PLANNING & HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE

The following Members were nominated:-

Cllr. D Brindley Cllr. J Farmiloe Cllr. R Farmiloe Cllr. L Hallett Cllr. J Harris Cllr. A Harrison Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks Cllr. D Neave

Agreed

CO10 TO APPOINT MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE LEISURE & AMENITIES COMMITTEE

The following Members were nominated to serve on the Leisure & Amenities Committee:-

Cllr. W Botting Cllr. R Farmiloe Cllr. B Gosling Cllr. L Hallett Cllr. A Harrison Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks Cllr. P Haswell Cllr. A Loraine Cllr. A Robertson

Cllr. J Farmiloe – substitute

Agreed

The following Members were nominated to serve on the Town Enhancement Sub Committee:-

Cllr. L Hallett Cllr. J Harris Cllr. A Harrison Cllr. A Loraine

Cllr. R Robertson - substitute

Agreed

C011 TO APPOINT MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE POLICY & FINANCE COMMITTEE

The following Members were nominated to serve on the Policy & Finance Committee:-

Cllr. J Farmiloe Cllr. L Hallett Cllr. J Harris Cllr. A Harrison Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks Cllr. A Loraine Cllr. R Maskell Cllr. R Robertson Cllr. M Simmons

Agreed

The following Members were nominated to serve on the Business & Audit Sub Committee:-

Cllr. J Farmiloe Cllr. L Hallett Cllr. A Loraine Cllr. R Robertson Cllr. M Simmons

Agreed

The following Members were nominated to serve on the Employment Sub Committee:-

Cllr. J Farmiloe Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks Cllr. A Loraine Cllr. R Robertson Cllr. A Smith

Agreed

The following Members were nominated to serve on the Grants Sub Committee:-

Cllr. B Gosling Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks Cllr. A Robertson

Cllr. L Hallett - substitute Cllr. P Haswell – substitute

Agreed

C012 TO APPOINT REPRESENTATIVES TO SERVE ON ASSOCIATIONS

The following were nominated to serve on the Associations listed:-

Age Concern – Cllr. M Simmons Big Park Project – Cllr. W Botting & Cllr. D Brindley Citizens Advice Bureau (CAB) – Cllr. M Simmons Community Transport Lewes Area (CTLA) – Cllr. M Simmons Lewes Association of Local Councils – Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks Local Action Team – Cllr. L Hallett Mature Citizens Forum – Cllr. J Farmiloe & Cllr. M Simmons Neighbourhood Panel – Cllr. J Harris (West), Cllr. A Loraine (North) & Cllr. R Farmiloe (East) Peacehaven/Telscombe Housing Association – Cllr. R Maskell Access Group – Cllr. P Haswell House Project Steering Group – Cllr. L Hallett & Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks Royal British Legion – Cllr. R Farmiloe Town Forum – Cllr. A Harrison Crime Stoppers – Cllr. J Harris

Agreed

Cllr. J Harrison-Hicks stated that further nominations for the following Associations are yet to be confirmed:-

Peacehaven & Telscombe FC Chamber of Commerce Wave Leisure/Sussex Development Association Peacehaven & District Residents Association

C013 TO NOMINATE TWO REPRESENTATIVES TO SERVE ON SOUTH DOWNS NATIONAL PARK (SDNP)

The following Members were nominated:-

Cllr. A Robertson Cllr. R Robertson

Agreed

Action: A Sargent to forward nomination papers to Cllr's A Robertson and R Robertson

C014 DEEDS AND TRUST INVESTMENTS

Noted

Matters Arising:-

None

C015 ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS

Proposed Cllr. M Simmons Seconded Cllr. R Farmiloe

Agreed

Matters Arising:-

None

C016 TO CONFIRM THE DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING – Tuesday 2nd June 2015 at 6:30pm

Noted